Life at Vigo Village School Life at Vigo Village School Life at Vigo Village School
  •   Our open days for parents considering enrolling their children for September 2020 will take place on the mornings of 5th and 19th November.  We'd love to see you there - please contact the office to book a slot.


Our governing body comprises members of the local education authority, community governors, a representative of the parish council, parents, teachers and non-teaching staff.  They serve a four year term of office, and bring a wealth of experience and knowledge that is used to support and enhance the school.

The full governing body meets three times a year, and focuses largely on the school’s many statutory obligations.  The PASH committee, made up of half of the governing body, also meets three times a year, and is charged with monitoring the academic standards of the pupils.  The other half of the governing body attend FRAP meetings, and their remit concerns the financial running of the school, incorporating the maintaining and enhancement of the school building and grounds.

A final committee, the Strategy team, meets for a minimum of three times per year.  This committee is made up of the chair of governors, the chairs of the PASH and FRAP committees, the head teacher and the school’s leadership team.  Their responsibility is to ensure that the school’s self-evaluation, and school improvement plan, reflects the current, and projected, position of the school.

The membership of the governing body is as follows:

Local Education Representative

  Period of Office
Mrs P Shelbrooke  23.04.18 - 22.04.22

Co-opted Governors   

  Period of Office
Mrs S Oag (Chair) 10.06.19 – 09.06.23
Mrs K Mendez 10.06.19 – 09.06.23

Mrs H Edwards-Brown


Mr T Church


Mr M Germain

10.06.19 – 09.06.23


10.06.19 – 09.06.23


19.09.17 - 18.09.21

Parent Representatives

  Period of Office
Mrs J Pitchell 24.09.16 – 24.09.20
Mrs M Haydon 27.04.17 - 26.04.21

Head teacher

  Period of Office
Mr R Barber 01.09.06  

Staff Governor

  Period of Office
Mrs V Philcox 03.11.17 - 02.11.21

Associate Governor

Mrs N Fry

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs A McNeil


Governors' Register of Business Interests

Governors' Code of Practice